Requirements

Under a recent change to New York State Law, people who have concealed carry permits are required to recertify their permit with the New York State Police every three years.

No change has been made to the recertification requirements for premises restricted permits. People with those permits will continue to recertify with the State Police every five years.

To help transition from the five-year recertification requirement to the new three-year requirement, anyone who had a concealed carry permit issued before September 1, 2020, will have until August 31, 2023, to recertify.  In addition, those individuals who were issued a concealed carry permit or recertified after September 1, 2020, will not become due to recertify under the new law before August 31, 2023, and may therefore wait to recertify until the third year after permit issuance or their last recertification.

Recertification can only be done online. State Police will no longer accept paper forms.

*Note: People who have a permit issued in New York City, Nassau County, Suffolk County or Westchester County do not recertify with State Police. You must follow the requirements that are in place in your county.

License Holder FAQs

How do I recertify?

You must recertify electronically here.

My concealed carry permit was issued in January 2000 and I recertified with the NYSP on January 15, 2018.  Under the 5 year requirement I was due to recertify by January 15, 2023.  When do I need to recertify under the new law?

You have until August 31, 2023 to recertify, and should then recertify every three years thereafter.

My concealed carry permit was issued in January 2015, and I recertified with the NYSP on January 15, 2020.  Under the 5-year requirement I was due to recertify by January 15, 2025.  When do I need to recertify under the new law?

You have until August 31, 2023 to recertify, and should then recertify every three years thereafter.

My concealed carry permit was issued in January 2018 and I have not recertified yet.  Under the 5 year requirement I was due to recertify in January 2023.  When do I need to recertify under the new law?

You have until August 31, 2023 to recertify, and should then recertify every three years thereafter.

My concealed carry permit was issued in January 2020.  Do I need to recertify in January 2023 under the new law?

You have until August 31, 2023 to recertify, and should then recertify every three years thereafter.

My concealed carry permit was issued in September 2020.  When do I need to recertify under the new law?

You have until September 2023 to recertify, and should then recertify every three years thereafter.

My concealed carry permit was issued in June 2022.  When do I need to recertify under the new law?

You have until June 2025 to recertify and should then recertify every three years thereafter.

 

General Recertification Questions

online RECERTIFICATION

*For best performance, please use the following browsers. Due to the nature of the application, it is best used on desktops and tablets:

Desktop:

  • Google Chrome
  • Microsoft Edge
  • Mozilla Firefox
  • Apple Safari

Tablet/Mobile:

  • The stock browser on Android OS 10
  • Safari on iOS 13+

If you are having an issue, it is suggested that you first verify that you have the latest browser version and clear your cache first before contacting support.

Instructions for clearing cache:

In the event that the above steps did not solve the problem please contact the ITS Help Desk at 1-844-891-1786.

Are there any fees associated with recertification?

No, there are no fees associated with recertification; however, existing county fees associated with new applications and amendments still apply.

My firearms license is currently suspended. Can I still recertify?

No. The statute requires that, in order to recertify a firearms license, a person is required by statute to affirm that he/she is not prohibited from possessing firearms at the time of the recertification. Since a person with a suspended permit is prohibited from possessing firearms, he or she would not be able to meet this requirement and may therefore not recertify his/her firearms license while such license is suspended.

Since submitting my recertification, I have acquired/disposed of firearms or changed my address. What should I do?

The process for amending your pistol / revolver license has not changed. File an amendment with your county licensing authority. Amendments have no impact on recertification.

When pistol / revolver license holders recertify, are they issued a new pistol / revolver license?

No. You are still required to have your pistol / revolver license on your person while carrying a pistol or revolver.

How can I check the status of my recertification?

Residents with a New York State and out of state identification may navigate to www.firearms.troopers.ny.gov and select “Check Recertification Status”. Out of state identification numbers may still be used to check your status by entering it in the DMV Client ID field. You have completed your portion of the recertification process when you receive a recertification number.

What does a recertification status of "No recertification on file" mean?

If you submitted a paper Recertification Form, your status will be "No recertification on file" until your information has been entered. Please allow sufficient time for mailing and entry.

If you submitted electronically, you should not receive this message. You may have chosen the "Save For Later" option and not submitted the recertification. You can retrieve a saved recertification for 90 days at www.firearms.troopers.ny.gov. Click on "Recertify Pistol Permit", then "Retrieve Recertification". If you did not save or submit your recertification, it will need to be reentered.

What does a recertification status of "Thank you for recertifying your pistol permit. Your next recertification is due on mm/dd/yyyy" mean?

You have met the recertification requirements of subsection 10(b) of section 400.00 of the penal law, and your next recertification date is shown in the status.

Is the term "pistol permit" the same as "pistol / revolver license" or "firearms license"?

Yes.

How will my email address be used?

If an email address is provided, a Confirmation of Submission containing your Recertification Number will be emailed confirming receipt of your recertification. Email addresses may also be used for communication regarding future recertification cycles.

Electronic Recertification Questions

What information is required to complete the recertification?

Information such as name, address, date of birth, New York State Driver License or Non-Driver Identification number, and an inventory of your licensed pistols and revolvers will be required. Most of the information needed for recertification can be found on your county issued pistol / revolver license. You will need to have a New York State Driver License or Non-Driver Identification Card in order to process your recertification.

Out of state residents who do not possess either a New York State Driver License or Non-Driver Identification Card must use the paper form to recertify and must attach a copy of their driver’s license or non-driver identification from their state of issuance.

How do I add more than three firearms to the recertification?

Click on the "Add Firearm" button for each additional firearm.

How do I enter the manufacturer of my firearm?

Click on the magnifying glass next to the "Manufacturer" field, and enter the name of your manufacturer in the "Search" box.

The manufacturer of my firearm is not listed. How do I enter my firearm?

To enter a manufacturer that is not listed:
From the Manufacturer search feature:

  • Type "Other" in the "Search" box.
  • Select "Other or Unknown".
  • Type your manufacturer into the "Other Manufacturer" box that appears.
How should the caliber of my firearms be entered?

Caliber must be entered as a number only, without punctuation, mm, or other alphabetic designations. Examples:

  • All variations of .45 caliber ammunition should be entered as "45"
  • All variations of .22 caliber ammunition should be entered as "22"
  • Any ammunition designated with "mm" should be entered solely with the numeric identifying the caliber. For example "9 mm" should be entered as "9"
  • All variations of 5.56 caliber ammunition should be entered as "556". For example, "5.56x45 mm NATO" should be entered as "556"
I was originally issued a pistol / revolver license years ago but have recently transferred to another county. When completing my recertification, which issue date should I enter?

The issue date entered should be the date (or approximate date if unknown) that you were originally issued a pistol / revolver license, not the date that you transferred or amended your license.

I discovered that I made a mistake on my recertification. What should I do?

Once submitted, your recertification cannot be modified electronically. If you have already submitted your recertification, please call 1-855-LAWGUNS (1-855-529-4867).

I received the following message when trying to enter my recertification: "The recertification processing system is currently unavailable. Please try again at a later time." What does this mean?

One of the systems required to process recertifications is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.